Rope the religion not the people

Rope the Religion and free the people
I am like a child as I look at the face of God
I stand relaxed in awe with love so naked that my soul
does do battle with my belly to protrude
and with eyes of simplicity having lost all memory
of such a grating guilt that ran amuck without me

All I could do was gaze at Christ on the cross
and with such a swelling sickness I just had to flee
as such the cruelty inflicted mirrored the world today.
Ah! running, I was chased by my shadow a grotesque
mixture of sin and innocence all sealed in the confusion
of my memory.

And so through those streets did I run
and into the people, and there I sat and stared at my
face reflected in my tear drops.
What sacrament can heal my guilt and free my memory
and what sacrament will give me eyes to look at Him
so nailed to a cross.

Leave a comment